The Fish Tank: And Other Short Stories Reviews

 

2018


*****A book to curl up with! By TM Brown on July 27, 2018

I recently met Maria and her sister at a book-signing event. Without question, she’s a very good writer. Just a few pages in and I’m committed.

*****Award Winning B.R.A.G. Medallion Honoree By indieBRAG on June 24, 2018

We are proud to announce that FISH TANK: and Other Short Stories by Maria Elena Alonso-Sierra is a B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree. This tells readers that this book is well worth their time and money!

This book is well written, with a variety of very interesting stories. The title and book cover focus only on one story in the book.  Each story is very interesting and I really liked the variety. I liked the author style of writing and found the entire book very interesting and entertaining.

This was a very interesting read for me- I am not very informed on the Cuban situation. I found this enlightening and helpful in giving me a vivid picture of what it was like in revolutionary Cuba. I did find some of the stories a bit slow but overall they kept my attention. I definitely would read more by this author. Thank you.

*****Great Book By Fred Fanning on April 28, 2018

Great book filled with interesting and enjoyable stories. I enjoyed them all.

*****Great read By Dancer89 on March 16, 2018

I do not usually enjoy short stories, but I did really enjoy this book and look forward to reading more by this author.

 

2017


*****A Priceless Gift By Chickie on December 19, 2017

Maria Elena Alonso-Sierra’s The Fish Tank and Other Short Stories will capture your heart and imagination. Each short story transports you to a different time, a different place. From Section 3: (Stories from the Cuban Diaspora) , you are taken to a time where the wrong action, the wrong word could be life or death. In the short story Into the Light, you are in a paranormal story that has an anomaly that you don’t, (but you do!), want to know why lies beyond. In Jerry’s Gift and the Rite of Passage, each story edifies a strong woman finding her way.
Each story within The Fish Tank: and Other Short Stories is a wrapped gift. With each word written, Maria Elena opens the heart of the story that will find a place within your heart.

*****A jewel ***** By Gisela Hausmann on November 4, 2017

Maria Elena Alonso-Sierra’s short stories collection “The Fish Tank: And Other Short Stories” is a jewel.
Of the four sections, “For the Fun of Writing (Just Because), Soul Songs (Stories from the Cuban Diaspora), Prologues (prequel stories from upcoming novels), and The End,” Soul Songs impressed me the most. Having lived in the Florida Keys, home to many Cuban refugees, Alonso-Sierra’s stories reminded me of similar stories I have heard.
Alonso-Sierra’s gift for writing allows the readers to “see” her characters’ thinking, struggle with conflict, and the will to overcome whatever the obstacle.
Her book features a lot of strong women and I liked that.
In “Jerry’s Gift” it’s Maureen who got out of a non-working marriage. Though she supported her ex, Jerry, while he studied corporate law, he did not value her as a partner and his family did not treasure her. But Jerry isn’t as perfect as he thinks. Busy with philandering and trying to manipulate things so Maureen’d get as little money as possible, Jerry forgot that had hid her jewelry together with his late grandmother’s. And, since Jerry, not Maureen, took the jewelry out of the safety box nobody would ever be able to track it back to her.
But, having taken “the gift” Maureen doesn’t sit idle, she builds a new life for herself. And, she enjoys it.
“… Every afternoon, after she stopped the refurbishing, she made a pitcher of lemonade and sat facing the eighty-year-old maple trees at the edge of the property. Her ritual. Her space. Her world…”
In “Rites of Passage” it’s Kate who overcomes her disliking of roller coasters to support her son Bryan. Finally tall enough, Bryan wants to ride the highest, scariest roller coaster but his father won’t let him go alone or ride with him. Supporting Bryan is so empowering that Kate overcomes her own emotional restraints.
“… With a heartfelt sigh, I stand in line again.”
In “Bubbles Don’t Bring Smiles” it’s Abue Cachita (Abue, shortened from abuela, Spanish for grandmother) who keeps her cool as Castro’s soldiers are approaching, searching for American goods while the “… glorious Comandante (Castro) is at the front lines. He will not cower to the enemy that threatens to destroy our glorious revolution.”…”
Alonso-Sierra features not only clever women stores, there is also a detective Nick Larson Story, with a Alonso-Sierra’s third novel about his detective work forthcoming.
Maybe not surprising the story that moved me the most is The Fish Tank* (*2015 Finalist at Carried in Waves Contest from the University of Cork, Ireland), also depicted on the cover.
The opening of this story holds the clue.
“… (Matilda’s) back created a perfect parallel to the chair’s backrest barely two inches behind her, and the organza skirt she wore, a faded green, frothed around her legs, its color a pitiful contrast against the vivid white petticoat underneath. She tried not to move, unlike the other adults inside the room who shifted nervously in kaleidoscope patterns…”
Matilda is about to leave Cuba with her mother. They are going to join her Papi who escaped after the Playa Girón invasion. Matilda brings only one toy, “… a beautiful Snow White doll, crafted in Switzerland, with a smooth porcelain face, round innocent eyes, rosy cheeks, and a pout for a smile. A family heirloom, handed down from mother to daughter for four generations…”
As she waits with her mother in “the fish tank,” a holding room, suspense rises by the minute. People are still getting removed, they won’t make it to freedom. When Matilda and her mother are finally about to leave, one of the guards notices the doll… (no spoilers from this reviewer)
Remember, the clue was in the opening of the story! Things are never obvious.
It’s another “strong woman”-story, only this time is a girl.
LOVED this book. A must-read for Floridians, Cubans, women, history buffs, and lovers of good books.
5*****
Gisela Hausmann, author & blogger

*****A collection full of heart By pearls on August 19, 2017

A very quick read that flows deeper into the human condition, exposing the heart of the truth. From motherhood to émigrés, Alonso-Sierra is able to succinctly wrap up the human condition in an entertaining collection that will leave you feeling connected to the world around you.

*****Pure Magic By A. Cleaver on July 2, 2017

I picked up the paperback at a book signing in San Antonio and am just blown away! This is a series of short stories, each story with something unique to say. They range from funny to poignant to sad to whimsical. At the turn of every page, you want to see what Maria Elena is going to say next. Her writing has such a lyrical quality that it is almost like reading the lyrics to a song. Beautifully descriptive, you clearly see every character, every image as she describes it. She transports you to a roller coaster at theme park and a home in her native Cuba to a haunted house, and, with each story, you can’t help but be in her world. In the end, you are just thrilled that she invited you.
I loved her books The Coin and The Book of Hours but this is something very different. It feels completely personal, like we have stepped into her skin for a peek. I can’t say enough good things about it so just pick it up and get ready to get lost in her magic.

*****Five Stars By Dr. Agamemnon Gus Pantel, Ph.D. on March 8, 2017

Great short stories!!!! which reminded me of my own childhood leaving Cuba as our homeland.

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave